Spitting Image: Maybe Today Satan

I will start off by saying (once again) that I have never really been a fan of re-makes and re-boots. However, I will allow you to quote me as saying that the “re-boot” of Sabrina The Teenage Witch is quite the exception. Those of us who grew up on the Archie comics, the cartoon and even embraced the 90s TV sitcom got to enjoy the cutesy version of Sabrina Spellman.

Now as adults we get to bask in the sinful glory of a MUCH darker side of what it could have been like to be in Sabrina’s half-witch half-mortal shoes. So in other words, The Chilling Adventures Of Sabrina on Netflix is the version I had always hoped for but never got (sorry Melissa Joan Hart but I did love you in Clarissa Explains It All!). The first time I laid eyes on The Academy of Unseen Arts I was like “Screw Hogwarts! Sign me up here!” (I even have an alumni sweatshirt cause I am a dork like that). So I guess what I am trying to say is that I really dig this show. I think a lot of it has to do with all the incredible Biblical, Pagen, Horror Movie, Archie and Riverdale references that they incorporate and cross reference on top of the story line. Some being super obvious and others as hidden Easter Eggs for fans who really “get it”.

That leads me to my latest art piece inspired by the beautifully talented Kiernan Shipka as Sabrina. I didn’t want to just draw her in her everyday look. If you know a thing or two about the show you will definitely get the play on words that I am using for the title as you take in what I have drawn. I call it “Maybe Today Satan”…

For those who have not started watching this show yet, I will not give away too much. What I will say is that this split face portrait is inspired by Sabrina’s two royalty looks as the Queen of Hell aka Sabrina Spellman – Morningstar! This piece was done in pencils and chalk pastels.

Are you a good witch or a bad witch? Either way prints and shirts of this art piece are now available in my Amazon shop for you to rock proudly as either! You can also see more of my portrait work in the Spitting Image section of my portfolio website!

Stay Spooky!
LDG Nicole

Listen to them. Children of the night. What music they make....