Spitting Image: Twisted

Even though I created American Mary themed Dead Girl Decay Barrettes for the Soska Sisters, I wanted to pay tribute to them again through my portrait work. And what better time than now… Women In Horror Month! A cause both the Twisted Twins and myself support every year!

Sylvia & Jen Soska rock their American Mary Barrettes made by Living Dead Girl Nicole

Sylvia & Jen Soska rock their American Mary Barrettes made by Living Dead Girl Nicole

After meeting them in November and having the opportunity to finally talk to them in person, I gained an even higher level of respect for them (didn’t think that was possible with how much I already admired them). The fact that they remembered me from the barrettes I made for them and being able to have fun with them talking about my intestines and surgery just goes to show how incredible they are to the fans who support what they do. And just talking to them you could tell how sweet they are in general.

Artist Living Dead Girl Nicole and Husband Frank with Directors Actresses Jen and Sylvia Soska the Twisted Twins

Living Dead Girl Nicole & Husband Frank finally meet the Soska Sisters

The Soska Sisters have done a lot of impressive work in their careers but to me, their true masterpiece is American Mary. Yes, some may think it’s because of my girl crush on Katharine Isabelle but honestly, I loved everything about this film. All the symbolism (seriously watch the commentary) and how they truly put their hearts and souls into this film is prevalent when you watch it. You know you are watching a film created by horror fans for horror fans.  I was so sick of all the unimaginative over CGI’d versions of old movies (grrr remakes) and I remember thinking the first time I watched it… “this is the breath of bloody fresh air the horror movie community has been craving”.

So with that, I decided to create a portrait that emulated everything I love about Jen and Sylvia Soska and the movie American Mary. I could not resist drawing them as their cameo appearance as the Demon Twins Of Berlin. I call this portrait Twisted…..

Twisted With Logo ReSized

Are you a fan of the Twisted Twins? Then make sure to pick up a print or t-shirt featuring this piece in my Etsy or Amazon shops! And don’t forget, in honor of Women In Horror Month you can get 13% off your order until the end of February!

Screenshot_20180201-095349.jpg

See more of my portrait work on the Spitting Image Portrait page of my portfolio site!

Stay Spooky!
faa65a72e673855ffaf5540fb30c6ac3-american-mary-horror-movies
LDG Nicole

5 thoughts on “Spitting Image: Twisted

  1. Pingback: Killer Shops: Living Dead Girl Nicole — Morbidly Beautiful

  2. Pingback: Freaky Fanatics: Kay Is Twinning! | Living Dead Girl Nicole

  3. Pingback: Creature Featured: Horror Ghoul Icons Spread the Gore | Living Dead Girl Nicole

  4. Pingback: Back Bone: AWFF 2018 Donation | Living Dead Girl Nicole

  5. Pingback: A Very Memorable Days Of The Dead Chicago 2019 | Living Dead Girl Nicole

Listen to them. Children of the night. What music they make....