Sabbath Update!

We brought Sabbath home last night. Her surgery went well. They went over all her meds and how to feed her through the tube before we left. When we opened up her crate to let her out she didn’t know where to run to first or what to do. Then she realized she was home and started to purr. She was still wobbly and out of it from the anesthesia and being hospitalized for the last few nights. We set up a 2nd litter box for her on the lower level of our house so that away she doesn’t have to struggle going up and down the stairs. The little shit still attempts it though. She about gave us a heart attack because she feels the need to still jump up and off of our bed and couch.

WP_20140523_21_40_37_Pro

Poor Frank mentioned to me that he now gets to see another loved one go through all this. Seeing her like this brings up a lot of memories of my own health struggle for both of us. Between not eating, throwing up, special diets, tubes being put in both of us, losing all sorts of weight, being hospitalized on ivs and nutrients, xrays, ultrasounds, bloodwork, surgery, being weak, not knowing if you were going to make it etc. It’s been really hard for me but now I see how hard it must have been on Frank to see me go through something like this. Not to mention seeing Sabbath go through something similar now. To some people they would say “but she is just a cat”. The thing is she isn’t. She is a part of our family. I have had my share of break downs and I am grateful to have had her by my side with her unconditional love to get me through things.

My long memorial day weekend is going to be a majority of being by Sabbath’s side to assure she is ok and getting her all the care she needs. I had to write out a daily log of her meds and times of her feedings to keep it all together. There is a lot to keep track of and each day the feedings increase gradually. The meds have to be taken at different times (crushed, mixed, syringed) etc. Every time we put anything in the tube we have to do it slowly so she does not get sick. We also have to flush the tube before and after. So far she has been very cooperative and purrs while I do it. I usually pet and talk to her during the whole process. It is a lot to take in so I am doing my best not to get overwhelmed or stressed and be the best Mommy I can be to her. Ichabod has been confused since she came home. Distancing herself and hissing at her. She smells the vet on her. Sabbath is trying to adjust to everything. The good thing is she has been purring ALOT since she has been home.

WP_20140524_13_21_48_Pro

WP_20140523_19_52_51_Pro

Last night we were nervous so we locked Sabbath in the bedroom with us. We put the extra litter box and some food and water in the room so she had everything she needed. She wanted to sleep on our bed. I don’t think either of us really slept. Every time she moved Frank and I would shoot up in bed to see if she was ok. Frank still does that to this day with me. Now I understand why. The good thing is so far her medication and feedings have been successful with no vomiting which is a BIG deal! She is laying next to me purring on the couch right now. I can tell she is feeling a little less out of it but she is still very jumpy at the slightest sound of anything. I am sure she feels the same relief I did when I was released to come home 🙂 As hard as this is going to be, and despite the insane bills we just added to our debt I am so glad we brought her back in and we are doing all we can to try to save my baby girl.

WP_20140524_12_07_43_Pro

5 thoughts on “Sabbath Update!

  1. We sure hope she will recovery from this. This is the last thing we really can try to save her. I am hopeful from the way she seems to be reacting to things. Just trying not to set my self up for disappointment if she doesn’t. We got back to the vet Tuesday for a bandage change and then next Friday she will get another bandage change, check up and blood work to see if things are getting better. Friday will be like a 1 week follow up. Fingers crossed!

    Like

  2. They are never “JUST” a cat/dog. Anyone who has loved one knows that! I’m glad she is home. I’m sure she feels safer now. That’s an awful lot of medicine she needs! That will sure keep you busy. Let us know if you need anything. When is Frank leaving for his canoe trip?

    Like

  3. It really is a lot of meds. They gave us 1 week of the Clavamox and 2 weeks worth of everything else. She goes in next Friday for a 1 week check up. At that time they will also run her blood work again to check her levels and see if anything has gotten better. Frank leaves June 6th and will be back that Sunday. I have the days off cause I was suppose to go so I am going to just stay home with her on those days.

    Like

Listen to them. Children of the night. What music they make....